Wednesday, April 29, 2009

WEEK 12.0 - CONFIDENCE

MONDAY, 05.04.09. Today I thought it would be good to do Plyo. This plyo class usually keeps my legs wobbly for four days. And because I thought there was no bike or run this Thursday, its okay to be sore until then. So 200 + squats and a couple of extras later, I looked at the schedule and realized we have more hill repeats this Thursday. Aaahh! Hopefully foam rollers will save me. I walked back to work chewing on my apple and realized that it seems more difficult for me to chew up a large apple than to do squats! My cheek muscles were tired of chewing! Is that possible?

SUNDAY, 05.03.09 Today was the 5 Boro bike tour I've been wanting to do for a couple of years now. I am missing team swim and run. =( We anticipated rain all day and indeed it did. Since I awoke at 5:30 am it was already gloomy. By the time I got there it was drizzling. Good thing I changed to my sneakers from my biking shoes! I was so afraid of slipping and falling. Since I was late, my cousin Ray and I rode together. Together we practiced our bike handling skills on wet grounds, pointed our potholes and obstacles while we chatted about dangerous aspects of biking. Like that girl who was on the phone while biking - we talked about her until she suddenly dropped her phone. I swear Ray has some sort of witch power or maybe it was me (have you noticed my elongated witch chin?). We met up with a few of his friends. As we rode together, they each commented on how they wished their wife\S0 signed up for these kinds of things. I wished the same. It was starting to get cold especially when the traffic became stop and go in central park. I should've listened to my dad when he suggested for me to wear pants that morning. I sucked it up biking uptown manhattan through highways and into bronx. By the time we were about to cross over to Queens, there was a long break. I reconsidered continuing the ride as I started to hate the wait, the wet, and the cold. Besides, I have the perfect excuse. I have my first race this upcoming Saturday and how bad would it be if I were to get sick? I left the tour early and visited BJ's (the wholesalers). I got back into CTown where I went straight for the bed. My 2 hour nap felt great - I didn't \ couldn't move a muscle. As soon as I awoke, KC was starting his Ab Ripper X workout. I would be disappointed if didn't join. After ab ripper, I finally felt some heat in my body after a whole day of being wet and cold.

SATURDAY, 05.02.09. Today was a day without any planned exercises. It was my brother's big day. Though rain was expected throughout, it turned out to be just a lovely day. If there was any event to be considered exercise that day, it would be my single handedly carrying the bride in her wedding dress during picture taking that morning. Wow, I have a sister-in-law now. Anyhow, between that and dancing all night in unfamiliar high heeled shoes was my home made exercise.

FRIDAY, 05.01.09. Today is my brother's birthday. This morning I was in a defensive mood as I was reminded about a disagreement I had earlier last week. But nothing that Tri-Body and lifting weights couldn't fix! But Tri-Body was cancelled. =( They forgot to hire a sub. Boo... So instead I went to half a cycling class and a yoga class then hopped into the jacuzzi. I can't wait for abs and swim later today. I need to release some built up stress and anxitey...

THURSDAY, 04.30.09. Oops! Last night I said I would run but instead I ran home as fast as I could and got a pedicure and a manicure (in prep for my brother's wedding this weekend). Hey! It's quite the creative excuse as most people only get married once (or a single digit number) in a lifetime. Anyhow, Coach Laura is out on vacation this week with her new squeeze and Coach Jenn took on her role. She's quite hardcore and I like her. She really cares about the team and each individual that's part of it. She teaches us how to suck it up and sets a great example of it. Tonight's theme was to beat down Harlem Hill - the enemy. We did a double paceline warm up loop and on individual effort did 20 minute hill repeats on harlem hill. I thought I was going to do 3, but instead I did 4 loops alternating seated and standing climbs. Hills are truly my thing. I've noticed that throughout the weeks of training, I am able to tackle hills with an extrememly high heart rate and sustain it. I climb it smooth, I climb it hard and I climb it steadily. Right after we transitioned and attacked Harlem Hill again, but this time with our sneaks. I did 3 hill repeats and really enjoyed the uphills over the downhills. End of story.

WEDNESDAY, 04.29.09 No silly excuses like "my leg hurts" or "I rather eat." Tonight I'll be running. At Coach Laura's cycling class I tried hard to push my heart rate to 90% of max - which would probably be around 188 bpm - but I couldn't. Instead I was steady at 162-168. I've done it before without trying, why couldn't I do it today? It could've been my breathing effort. Yesterday at the lecture, we learned that by exhaling more, we can bring our heartrate down. Maybe this is what happened to me today?

TUESDAY, 04.28.09 I don't care how creative my excuses become, I'm making myself run today. I had morning swim - lap after lap of drills - and 30 consecutive push ups. Coach Carlie had to pull me out of the pool to show me my wrist and elbow rotation problem. It turns out I flare my arms too wide (like a V shape) when I pull the water underneathe me. My hand and arms need to be parallel like a ladder. Disappointing that I'm learning this now - just a week or so before my race. But better now than never. In the afternoon I lifted weights and upgraded again. 5 sets of 20 lbs military presses on each arm and 4 sets of 17.5 lbs curls. After work, I went to Reebok and contemplated on hopping in the jacuzzi - but the excuse was not creative enough. So I changed to my workout clothes and looked for the outdoor track. On my way there I stumbled across a dance class! I swear I stood there contemplating for 30 seconds if I should dance instaed of run. It was such a hard choice, but I eventually walked away. I found the outdoor track that measures 6-lap-to-the-mile. I ran 25 minutes until the pain in my abdomen flared up - and if I counted correctly, I did 15 laps. I ran slowly, so it sounds about right. The lecture that evening was on stress management. I was hooked on to the machine that basically showed me that I was very calm and stress free. Emily called me "dead." I just know how to regulate my breathing when not underwater and probably was overly exhausted after 3 workouts today. It was 11 p.m. by the time I got home. I got lost in the subways again - it seems to be a recurring incident during late nights for me. Luckily my dad met up with me and brought me food and shared stories during our train ride back. Got home, scarfed some more food down before I went to bed.

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

WEEK 11.5 - MOMENTUM

MONDAY, 04.27.09 All I did was eat Filipino food and sleep.

SUNDAY, 04.26.09 I gave up Sunday morning swim and run to do the 42 mile 5 Boro Pre-Ride. It was an absolutely beautiful day and I forgot to put on sunblock. My friend Dennis and his friend, Steve made it. And the sweet lady that gave me my form to fill out happened to be our swim coach Carlie Brown! She was tall and it was very sunny, so I didn't see her face so well, but I knew that voice sounded familiar! She was the marketing the director of the company! Sweeet! =) She rode her foldable Dahon bike. We did a pace of about 15 - 17 miles per hour throughout most of the ride and it wasn't crowded at all! Almost everyone I met there have been volunteers many times in the past. Cops on motorcycles paved our way along with a cop car that led the direction. I enjoyed the sun and the different views around the city while I sharpened my skills in pointing out holes and rough roads. It was a friendly atmosphere, maybe a little too friendly. I remember going under the overpass along the FDR drive. Everyone got rowdy and made loud noises as it echoed through the channel. I howled - it was funny. I remember thinking how I wish certain people were there for the ride - as I'm sure they would have enjoyed it. We made a few pit stops and took group pictures in Queens. Underneath the BQE (along side my Brooklyn neighborhood), the coordinators in the cop car directed the bike riders to go past the car. Since I was righjt next to the car, I hurried past them along with three other male riders. We rode at a fast pace straight down the flat path. I expected many more people to follow, but no one else did! When I decided to look back, I saw a huge gap between me and the cop car and no other riders. I was afraid I wasn't supposed to have passed the cop car, but as it turns out, the other riders said it was fine. It was me and the wide dark shaded road going fast! I loved it! Right before the last stretch of the ride, we stopped. The coordinators warned a few and took a few people out of the pack because they were riding too slow. We were allocated a short amount of time to cross the bridge as they seem to be very strict about blocking it off for this event. The Verazanno Bridge was the last most difficult portion of the ride. It was sooo cool to be riding my bike across it! Though I took my time enjoying the view and the shade, I still gave it good pedaling effort. The road was super smooth. The tricky part was the connections of the bridge that they warned us about. We were required to dismount our bikes on these 2 very dangerous parts of the bridge, otherwise we and our bikes will be "eaten up.". They were right. I dismounted and thought I'd be able to roll my bike across the vertical grates and my wheels fell right in along with my shoe cleats! I shook my head as I lost balance and figured I needed to carry my bike over the grates. The next set of grates I was smarter and walked along side the paved portion. Another person suggested to walk diagonally across the grates - I guess that might've worked too. After finishing the bridge, I went through the EZ pass lane without paying! Sweeet! It was quite a lovely time as I reminisced about my ride during the ferry ride back to Battery Park. I wish I could say that's how sweetly my day ended, but I decided to run later that day. One round across the Manhattan Bridge and back should be just a bit shy of 2.5 miles. KC and I stretched and headed out together. Not too far into the bridge I already slowed down. Let me tell you, the littlest things can bother me during my runs. My SPI belt was not adjusted and was flopping up and down. UGH! I HATE THIS! Calm down, it's just a run... My legs were definitely fatigued, I felt it. After biking over 90 miles this weekend and doing an open water swim, I was exhausted. I didn't want to do this anymore I remember thinking as I saw KC many feet ahead of me. But I wasn't going to quit what I had started, so I ignored my negative thoughts. There was a slight uphill throughout the bridge going over to Brooklyn. I tried different ways of running and can still say I don't feel comfortable at this specific sport. My friend Dennis pops right behind me on his bike - how coincidental. He hates running as much as I do. He headed home as I made a 360 turn to run back across the bridge. My right side of my body was feeling warm - a lot warmer than the rest of my body, including my face. Reminded me of when I was sent to the emergency room last summer. The tingling pins and needles sensation came. I tried to breathe it off and keep most of my landing pressure on my left leg but It didn't help. I was in horrible condition and I was very upset. I was craving for that end of the bridge which by this time KC had already finished. The time I finally saw his red shirt was when I knew I was almost done. Nothing left to do but to limp across the rest of the bridge without injuring my lower right back before my first race in 1.5 weeks. When I hit the end of the line, I threw a tantrum and hated myself. I kept thinking I hate myself. I threw every effort to stretch the lower back section where I felt my pinched nerve. By this time my whole right side was numb from face to toes. Remind me again why I run?

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

WEEK 11.0 - RUN

SATURDAY, 04.25.09. I got up bright and early and met the team at the Boat House at 8 am. Finally, the weather was on our side to ride over the GWB! We were all very excited - and glad to see Coach Jenn. We double pacelined through the park until we got to the roads over to Mroningside Drive where we kept our single paceline. I was warned by KC about the incoming traffic through swerving sharp narrow turns at GWB. He was not exxagerrating. When I saw the enven pavement just before the 5 feet width entrance of the bridge, I hesitated. They should really fix that! I unclipped right away and saw the bikers coming towards me - humph! Gotta make it through though. I clipped myself back on and pushed hard on the pedals up the steep ramp. On the 180 U turn, every one got off their bikes - there was too much traffic. I did the same. The following turns on the bridge wasn't bad at all as it was much more spacious. The view was spectacular! A clear warm day. I took my time absorbing the moment. It was my first and I waited 3 weeks to do this! I took deep breaths of the fresh air and at times closed my eyes just to feel the breeze on my face and the flow of my hair. Such is an example of the simple pleasures in my life. After the bridge we gathered as Coach Laura explained the directions and the ride for the day. Make a left at the dead end and the next right. We rode route 9W. I saw a lot of experienced group riders in mathcing uniforms. It was cool to see - different from what I'm used to seeing at Central Park every week. I struggled against the wind - riding up and down the hills on my own until I caught up to Katie who with her new sexy black Guru tri- bike and helmet looked like a pro. At times we drafted each other but for a lot of the time we rode side by side sharing our thoughts and experiences on relationships. She said to me: You don't come off as this, which is a great thing, but I'm always thinking the grass is greener on the other side. And sooner than I can remember we caught up with the rest of the group who was stationed on the top of 9W having snacks. That was a tough ride, riding alone, against the wind - but having that conversation with Katie made it enjoyable. On our way back four of us pacelined - Laura, Carey, Katie and myself. The ride was a piece of cake - rotating every minute or so. We ended up at the bike shop playing loud music outdoors where I bought a cup of coffee and some Nuun electrolites ($7 is expensive!). After another ride through the beautiful views of the GWB, I took the train back with Marianne who was stressing about her packing and moving to her new apt. I've never lived alone, and certainly don't know the stress that comes along with moving. What I know about Marrianne is that she comes from Cali, loves scuba diving and gets very excited talking about turtles! As soon as I got to my train stop, I bumped into a two of my friends who I haven't seen since those partying nights last year. We were all in different places now, with different people and all I can think of is WOW what a change a half a year can make! When I got home, my family decided they would come watch me swim in the open water with my team in Coney Island beach. So I ate some lunch and headed out together in our new 4 Runner truck. When I arrived, I thought I was late so I ran from one gazebo to the other looking for my teammates - no signs - but then Lorraine and her husband waved out to me. She said that Coach Laura is still on their way. Soon after I caught a glimpse of 30ish tight black rubber (super hero-like) bodies standing on the sand. That's them! I excitingly pointed out. So I started running over. I changed into my wet suit - just as the guy at Cadence taught me - I knew the deal after putting on 4 wetsuits by now - no struggle. =) I told Coach Laura that my family will be around because we have errands to run right after. My family arrived as Coach Laura was reviewing our open water swim. Some girls probably thought they were tourists, so I decided to introduce them. The girls were welcoming as some of them have already met my family. We were anxious. Luckily Marianela and I had our booties and warming swim caps! =) Those really helped me out! Coach Laura swam out and stood as our human bouy as we all jumped ran and dived in together in the cold ocean water. This was definitely memorable as we all laughed and shivered. I saw seaweed and crabs and I did my back stroke cart wheel turn around Coach Laura. We did this twice: once going counter clockwise and the second time clockwise. I drank some salty water and more - I think twice I actually *gulped* the water - gross but true. When doing the back stroke cartwheel turn, the arm closest to the bouy extends out in front as you turn - this is just for me to remember in the future in case I forget. After that, we partnered up and swam together while sighting the buildings. I think it was a great exercise to familiarize ourselves with the open water. Too bad I didn't have the time to swim the whole mile - but I was happy I did this! Afterwards, I rushed away to my brother's wedding rehearsal and then dinner, and then my good friend's engagement party. Can things be any more busy?

FRIDAY, 04.24.09 Today I took it light. Yoga, abs and swim...and GYRO! TGIF!

THURSDAY, 04.23.09 I can't remember if I worked out at all this afternoon - but who cares. I put out good effort at tonights brick. I even studied the Central Park map for 2 minutes. HA! It was nice to see Coach Jenn after a few weeks of bad weather and cancelled rides, it seems like we haven't seen her in forever! Tonight we rode one full loop as warm up - this time with a double pace line! That was much more fun than a single paceline. For 15 minutes each, a pair of girls and sometimes with Jean Luc and Steve would lead the group. There was about 20 of us that night and we were accompanied by good weather. It certainly feels better not to have sore legs from plyo while doing this brick training! After 1 full loop we progressed through our individual efforts around the inner loop twice - cutting off the 102 st and again on 72nd st transverse. I say it like I know what I'm talking about. In reality, I just follow where I see orange colors riding! I definitley need to rely on myself with directions at this point. Anywho, after our 80-85% effort on both loops, we transitioned into 5 minutes of climbing up and down the stairs by the Bethseda Fountain Stairs. The legs were wobbly but seemed very light. Immediately right after, we ran the lower loop. I tried a different way of running and noticed a huge difference in running efficiency. When I landed right on the ball of my foot - barely landing on my heels, I felt very light and my legs picked up quickly. The way the ball of the foot landed the ground did not bother my shin muscles! Is this the way running is supposed to feel? No pain?

WEDNESDAY, 04.22.09 After calling myself some undesirable names, I was surprised when I changed to running clothes and actually walked out my door. Didn't think I would do it, but the name calling and good weather certainly helped. It also helped that I didn't see people in the house and didn't smell the aroma of a home cooked meal. Otherwise I would've relaxed on my warm fluffy couch. It was breezy outside. I ran up and down my block (which is a length of an avenue). Did 1.5 round warm up and 5 rounds of joy running. I define Joy running as the pace in which is most comfortable for me - not too fast and not too slow. Geez I'm still not over the fact that I run so uncomfortably. My nerve on my lower right back seems pinched. And I reposition myself very often landing the ground differently everytime. I wonder if others can notice how silly I look. I sweat like a pig and tonight was no different. I like it though because I know I am detoxifying everyday resulting in baby smooth skin. Anyhow, here's the start to my new focus, which is running improvement. It was suggested by my dear KC to get at least 8 hours of sleep every night starting last night. I listened (as usual, haha) and went to bed a little after 10. This morning I woke up and felt no real difference. But as soon as I hit the endless pool, I noticed the energy. Either it was the 8 hrs of sleep or all the carbs I ate last night - maybe the combination of both. Anyhow, I thank my baby for the suggestion. I should really listen to him more often. In the pool, I struggled swimming against the current generated by the machine. But after about 15 minutes, I had the groove. I swam the next 15 minutes non stop and after, I felt like I can swim against the current for at least another 15 min. I didn't stop because I quit, I stopped because endless pool hour was over. Ha! This is a good sign though. Next time I will have to swim it for 30 minutes straight to prove myself - that and I may also have to bring my wetsuit along. In the afternoon, instead of taking spin class, what did I do? I ran! Yes, yes...that is my new goal afterall. Took a step onto the unfamiliar treadmill - which should not be the case at this point of my training. I started off with 6.0 mph which is equivalent to 9+ min mile and ended with 7.0 mph which is 8+ min mile. I did this for 2.3 miles and averaged a heart rate of 169 beats per minute. Shows how much I didnt really push myself. =T. After my sweaty run, I made my way to Stacy who graciously gave me a deep tissue shoulder massage / knead. I weighed 111 this afternoon - no significance for me really. I went o SBR after work and got myself a skull cap and wetsuit booties to wear for my races and the open water swim at Coney Island beach as part of this weekend's team training. They also gave me a triathlon transition bag for free! Woot! Woot! OK, Joy Sy prepare for tomorrow's brick class by eating more carbs tonight and sleeping 8 hrs.

TUESDAY, 04.21.09 The goal was to hold my breath for the length of the pool. I had to take 2. Booo. The goal was to stay together swimming in a pack. I fell behind. I did kicking drills with a board and barely moved. What da?!?! What's wrong Joy Sy? I went to lift weights. Not impressive. MUST RUN. At least it can't get any worse. Or can it??? F!!!

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

WEEK 10.0 - BELIEVE

MONDAY, 04.20.09 Believe it or not, our first tri is in 3 weeks. It's been quite a crazy week for me and Th Super Power Sy has officially broke down. But it's okay now. I've swallowed it all down - digested. This morning I cleared it all with an hour of deep cleansing yoga. During class I let all that was bothering me drain my brain, to my mat, and into the ground - someplace bigger that can handle it better. Our lecture on Race Day Rules was cancelled. I guess I'll have to read up on 20 pages worth of rules and remember them.

SUNDAY, 04.19.09. I woke up feeling down. I didn't want to leave my bed. I wanted to stay and hug except after only a few minutes of cuddling, I was forced to get up and change. We have a swim and run session with Cliff which I had paid extra for. I ate a small breakfast - a measly banana. It was unlike me, but I was not in the best of mood. I hugged KC from the passengers seat during the whole ride to Riverbank. When I got out of the car, I dragged myself and my big-assed bag across the mini-bridge and almost got run over by a bus because I was walking on the wrong side of a bending road. Gosh - I am a mess. I was mentally clouded, physically tired, and emotionally blank. They opened the pool to 50 meter lanes. How cool. It was definitely a different feel swimming across a double length pool than what I was used to. We did a lot of drills without equipment. We swam with our fists, imagined kicking within a 6 by 6 inch box, and push offs against the wall. We probably swam at least 1200 meters. Right after, we dried up and headed for our run. I tried really hard to concentrate. But I was off. Even the warming sun and energetic people couldn't help pop me a smile - not even a grin. I am upset at myself for being this way. Two laps consituted .25 miles. We warmed up for 2 laps and did 5 different drills (2 laps each) that I remembered. First was to land more on the ball of the foot rather than the heel. Second was to keep the 90 step pace per min. Next was to lean the head forward. Fourth was to pivot our arms from the shoulder. And last was to run with a steady, horizontal moving core. After training I had lunch and followed Marianela to Finesse Day Spa where I got a deep tissue massage from Ludy. She kneaded and stretched the tight muscles on my back the caused the rest of my legs to be tight as well. It was the much needed picker upper.

SATURDAY, 04.18.09 We have a weekend special training session with Cliff. Our bike training consisted of a mini-lecture and 5 hill repeats starting with a warm up loop. Our first 2 hill repeats were seated and the next 3 were standing. When climbing hills, I have to remember to keep my body tight and centered. No wobbly legs nor arms. This makes for efficient use of energy. On downhills, my body naturally leans forward, however I have to remember to keep it back. It will provide for a more controlled bike. I also learned that during an inevitable fall, it would be best to tuck and brace - covering the exposed area such as your ribs.

FRIDAY 04.17.09. I had a day off today and spent most of it with my Dad! The weather couldn't have been more perfect. Dad accompanied me to my eye surgeon for my check-up first thing in the morning. Dr. Pamel knows about my triathlon training and thank goodness we decided to speed this process up. The contact lens implants were really a huge burden off my shoulders throughout all these activities I have pursued. I started Team Chapstick only a week after my eye surgery! I remember being very concered about the water and goggle pressure on my eyes and also the possiblility of getting an infection from the open wound. So far, my eyes have been safe and have recovered. After Dr. Pamel trimmed some stitches off of my right eye, my dad and I headed to yoga. Its been a while since I last practiced, but I was really there to be with my Dad. I cannot explain to you how much I enjoy our love and life discussions. Sometimes I cry on the train as we chat, other times I also see my dad get emotional. It really is a touching and humbling feeling when we talk and many of times we notice each others watery eyes. My dad has always played a huge role in guiding me through the steps of life. I feel like a baby sometimes, with still so much to learn. My dad sees my new passion in this sport. He sees that I've grown to enjoy it. To my surprise, he decided to purchase a new car! He said to me: I know you need to be able to get around with your gear and your bike, so we need to get you a truck large enough to fit your stuff. It was very sweet to hear. That night we ended up with a new 2009 silver 4 Runner! I went to swim clinic right after where I met KC in the pool for our first swim class together.

THURSDAY 04.16.09 We had brick training tonight and it was more difficult than I expected. Transition repeat was the goal - training our muscles to switch from biking to running to biking and again. We did one full loop around the park as warm up and for the third time, the wind was against us. Luckily this time, it was blowing directly in front of ur face. Though it was more difficult to pedal through and go fast, at least I wasn't going to be blown over to the ground. Riding against the wind was tiring and after the first loop requiring hard effort, I didn't feel like running. But of course, I suck it up, that's what we've been trained to do. Transition was easier after the first time, especially being that I've gone through it during the Brooklyn Biathlon - I know its supposed to feel weird. At transition station, Coach Laura secretly reminded us that we needed to remove our helmets before our run. Geez I did almost forget! I ran up the hill around Cleopatra's needle and back down. The other girls on their way down the hill were extremely supportive - as everytime someone saw me, they greeted, complimented, encouraged, and cheered. I couldn't wait to hop on my bike. It got dark fast and good thing I had blinking lights. I'm always so confused with directions. It really is an annoying part of me. It is my flaw. Usually I'm riding alone and would have to either catch up or slow down to find others that do know where we are supposed to be headed. Don't ever follow me anywhere, because I guarantee you, we will be lost. I need to study that map, keep reminding myself that! Transitioning from run to bike is a piece of cake - UNLESS you've accidentally left your bike on the hardest gear! Which I didn't do, but Katie made that point during one of our lectures. Hopped on my bike and made sure my helmet was clipped becuase apparently that's a DQ (disqualifier) during a race! Because of the stupid wind, the ride felt like forever! After I approached my last run, I realized I never really turn it up a notch during any of my runs. I just take it as it goes - slow down if I have to, but never have I given it the extra effort. I only run faster when I'm a few feet from the finish line. What's wrong with me? Overall it was great training - harder than I expected.

WEDNESDAY, 04.15.09 I lifted weights and upgraded to 17.5 lbs shoulder presses.

TUESDAY, 04.14.09. Believe it or not, it's been 9 full weeks of training. And only four weeks from today, I'll be facing my very first triathlon. Anyway, I had 3 chicken drumsticks fresh off the oven for breakfast this morning and made it to the pool 10 min late. I jumped into a one arm stroking drill with the other arm in front. This was kind of fun - different - similar to side swimming. Then we tried another one arm stroke drill but this time with the other arm glued to my side. This drill was much tougher. We also swam in a pack of 7. We learned backstroke flips - this was fun! And took turns acting as a human buoy in the pool. We used our backstroke flips to efficiently swim across the bouy. After swim, I had a hot cup of banana cream coffee... Yummm. I made Yoga for soul this afternoon and found that its pretty much the only succesful thing that has allowed me to slowwww myslef dowwwn. Life has passed me by so quickly these past few weeks; I barely have enough time to spend with those I care about. BREATHE, Joy. Yoga instructor, Jennifer Stetzler rubbed some warm then cooling ointment on my shoulders and neck as soon as I did my first downward dog on my mat. I inhaled the calming scent of mint that emitted and instantly the shuffles of my day cleared up. It was a challenging L2/3 yoga class and I was imbalanced with some of the postures. My yoga practice can be a true reflection of what's going on in my life. When there's calmness and focus in my practice, it is likely that these exists in my life as well. This morning I watched a video that put me into tears. It touched me and opened my heart to realization - realization of what life commitments are all about. I think everyone deserves the opportunity to experience the joys as well as the sorrows that accompany lifetime commitments - whether it be to love and care for your parents, your spouse, your children, or your best friend. Nothing in life is more rewarding than the sentiments that one experiences through selfless promises to yourself and to another - and this you can clearly see through the tears and smiles of Team Hoyt. Believe me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flRvsO8m_KI

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

WEEK 09.0 - FOCUS

MONDAY, 04.13.09. I felt claustrophobic at Practice / Plyo class today. There were many people. I haven't been in class for a while and noticed a more female dominant class this time. Because they were out of 3 and 7 lbs medicine balls, I opted for a 10 lbs. barbell. We did repetitious lifts, squats, extensions, etc. I had cramps and was feeling out of it. Without a reflection in the mirror, I tend to give out on my form. I kept thinking how I wanted to jump out of the class early and wuss it out. But after thinking it a few times, I heard Eric Von Frolich say its time for squats. "You know the drill. Six 20 second intervals with 10 seconds rest. " Though I was out of it, I knew this was my favorite part of the class. I can keep up and I do them well. 17, 19, 17, 18, 17, 19. BOOM! I amazed myself. At mid-point, my lips turned blue and I tried breathing in more oxygen. I didn't expect to exceed my previous reps, but I did. So later in the day, I had some Pringles. Today was my first time at a hostel. Never been in my life. Though there were a lot of visitors and some noise, it felt hollow walking in there. I was there for the Bike New York orientation that's to be held on Sunday, May 3rd. Oh, and I ate more chips. =X

SUNDAY, 04.12.09. I was excited to see the sun in the morning. I ate breakfast. It's a beautiful riding day I thought, but as soon as I stepped out of the house, I felt chills. KC drove me to the park and set up my bike. It was cold out. It was windy. 50 F but felt more like 24F. Going over the GWB was going to be fun, but not if I fell over with a 13 lbs back pack. I had an 8 lbs. Kryptonite chain a 1 lb. lock, my sneakers, some food in my blue Mac Pac. As we arrived by Central Park, I got out of the car and felt my body tense and shiver. If it wasn't for the wind, I would not have had second thoughts. I looked over at KC who had just assembled my bike. He was also shivering. At that moment I decided to back out. I didn't suck it up. Later I found out only Marianne and Steve made it to the ride. I heard a strong gust of wind blew Marianne to the side of a car! I wasn't going to risk an injury. Instead of biking, KC and I went to the Flushing pool where we did laps. Neither of us counted, but we swam about 16. I thought it was a great workout alternative and as a treat we had brunch at a French Bistro. We considered it our "date" as we hadn't had one in a while. We had almond croissants, cafe au lait, salmon omellete, home fries and eggs benedict royal. It was nice to take it slow this Sunday. I really really needed it.

SATURDAY 04.11.09 It rained this morning and our ride to GWB was postponed to Sunday. We've attempted this ride as a group for 2 weeks now. Last time the wind held us back. This week it was Easter weekend and many couldn't make it. I ended up in Cadence at 174 Hudson St. at 9 am to try on wetsuits for the first time. I've heard horror stories about the experience and wanted to feel it out for myself. Alex, at Cadence was knowlegable as he races triathlons and volunteered to help others put on wet suits at events. The wetsuit should be folded over where the begenning of the leg entrance is exposed. After 3 minutes of carefully squeezing my foot, ankles, calves, knees and thighs into this super tight squeeky rubbery ungiving material, he taught me how to efficiently fix the 2 inch gap I created between my legs, right under what my mom calls my flower. He told me to bend at my waist to 90 degrees and grip the flabby part of the suit where my belly button was. Being careful not to dig my nails into the suit I pulled and rolled until I got to my chest area and WALA! The 2 inch gap now became just a 1 inch gap! I wasn't impressed, but hey! I enjoyed all the things I was learning. When I was all done, I ended up with about 3 inches of skin showing from wrist and ankles and no wrinkles on the suit. Though I didn't end up looking like a superhero in the wetsuit, I didn't look like a sausage either! I thought I looked more like a shapely rubber tire. And if I did a yoga posture in it, I wouldve looked exactlyt like a tire - which I may have to try that one day. We made our way downstairs to the endless pool where Alex showed me how to allow water to enter the wetsuit through the neck opening and sqeeze the water throughout the tight space between my skin and the suit. The purpose was to adjust the suit to better fit the body and to acclamate the body to the water temperature. ihe turned on the current and I swam in place. There was a mirror angled in front of me and another one right at the bottom of the pool. I never got to watch myself swim before, and this was fun for the 2 minutes that it lasted. I tried on the Blue Seventy 5mm thickness and the Orca Apex 2. The Orca defnitely felt less rubbery and I was more mobile in that suit but I need to postpone this large purchase as long as I could. Its going to dent my savings a bit. Although I didn't have a scheduled work out done today, I defientely had some resistance training with the wetsuits!

THURSDAY, 04.09.09 This morning I felt flat on my face, scraped both my knees, and spilled coffee as I hurried into KC's car. Turns out, I overlooked the deep pothole in front of our house which I even pointed out earlier that week. Though I fell, I somehow managed to save the cup of coffee I was holding. When I got into the office, one of the building security gave me a hard time letting me upstairs with my bike. 2 of the security guards were about to let me in but the man was stern and told me to ask Juan. When Juan got in, he told me to go past him and that the building management was different on both sides of the building. He asked me to make a decision right away, so I rushed my bike into the elevators. I stored my bike neatly in the closet and stuck a note there. Half an hour later Mike, our company management personnel came up and spoke to the partner asking about a bike. He's looked all over the 10th floor but did not see it. I overheard him, so when he came out of the partner's office I revealed myself. He seemed shocked and upset. He told me I created so much commotion downstairs with building management and someone was fired because of me. =( On top of that, KC got a ticket for going through a block that had an obscure "do not enter 9-5" sign as he came around to pick my bike up. I am so disheveled today - I hate this and I don't even think this is the last of what's going to happen to me today. =( Cafe Au Lait, please save my day!

WEDNESDAY, 04.07.09 I missed a group ride this morning with the team because I had a podiatrist appointment. Looks like they timed themselves and had a good time! I have to agree that the girls riding in the park in bright orange is by far the hottest I've seen! And I'm glad to be a part of it! Instead of riding, I decided to run to my doctor's appointment! Double benefit: I get my workout in PLUS I save two bucks on transportation! BUT BUT BUT! I didn't only run regularly, I ran with a backpack that weighed 8 lbs! People are always curious to know why my backpack is so large and heavy. Well let's see...I have a set of gym clothing, breakfast consisting of 2 fruit, lunch which includes a large ziplock full of steamed vegetables and chicken breasts, dinner which includes egg whites and another fruit, my filled to the top purple watterbottle, my cycling shoes, lock, and much more...! Yes, with all the things I have in my bag, I can survive a week under the subway station if I were ever to get trapped. So - the stupidest thing I did today was leave my work clothes folded on my bed. Meaning I forgot to bring it with me to my doctor's appointment. Therefore, I'll be walking into the office with sweaty gym attire and I will have no bra AGAIN! Ugh! Luckily a while ago, a wise friend of mine suggested that I keep extra work clothing in my drawer (just in case). And today I will be using that *just in case* set of clothes! It's retarded looking, but I don't care. My doctor sliced and released the tendons on three of my left toes this morning. He said it wouldn't interfere with my activities - it better not. Afterwards, I treated myself to a coffee and a jumongous blueberry corn muffin from my favortie muffin place in Brooklyn, Steve's Bagels. I didn't get to lift weights yesterday, but I'm okay with that. I visited my mom at her first swim class last night and was so happy to see a big smile on her face as she really enjoyed the lesson. She's the cutest little mom on earth! I'm glad she will be able to overcome her fear in the water as I did just a few months ago. At Coach Laura's cycling class we rode 2 minute climbs with 2 minute flat recurrances. The last effort was a 4 minute climb and a 4 minute all out pace. I sat next tio Jill from Team Lipstick. She has a kid and family and manages to keep up with training. Very impressive. During class, Coach Laura came by a few times to check out my heart rate. At first, she looked at my number and said good. But during the last hard effort, she looked at my number, looked at my face and looked at my number again. Then she said: "You're working hard, but you don't look like it!" I smiled. My heart rate was at 182 beats per minute. With a slightly confused look she said "Maybe it's because you're always smiling." She chuckled. My analysis is either my heart rate monitor (HRM) is plain out wrong. That it's telling me my heart is beating faster than it really is. OR I can make a really hard effort look so easy with a smile. I have to tell you though its one of the things that yoga emphasizes. Eventhough the pose is difficult and causes your heart rate to rise you keep a relaxed face. No sour or angry faces in yoga that's for sure. My maximum heart rate is supposed to be 193 bpm, and at 182 bpm, I should be panting like a dog. Instead I held it in and smiled.

TUESDAY, 04.07.09 In the beginning, I thought that after half of the training program has passed (6 weeks) I would start writing only once a week. Afterall, my exercises would become more routine and I wouldn't have that much to write about. I was wrong! After 8 full weeks of training, I feel that I still have so much more to write and experience. There are so many unexpected events and happenings. Today was a disappointing swim. Can being absent in the pool for only 2 weeks really put me that much behind? Wasn't it just two weeks ago I swam 30 laps without feeling a thing? Today felt like I started from square one...and a half. When I junped into that pool (10 minutes late) I thought I'd be able to pick up and swim right away. lnstead I struggled. Breathing was forced. Kicking was not controlled. Strokes were weak. I didn't feel the flow. It didn't feel natural. =( In short, I was disappointed. Regardless, I will not let this mornings swim damper my mental goals. I know everyday is different and I can jump right back into it. KC and I signed up for swim clinic lessons that is scheduled for Friday's beginning this week. I am quite excited to be able to spend some leisurely time with him in the pool. We both find enjoyment in swimming. With KC's help, I was finally able to set up my Yankz! - speed laces last night. They work well! I will need to get a few more pairs. They allow a secure fit throughout my whole foot! Very comfortable. With regular laces, I feel restricted sections on my feet where the laces are tighter. This could be the reason for my numbing feet. We'll see. Hopefully work won't be overly demanding today and I'd be able to some weight lifting this afternoon. My body mass is melting fast and I need to do less repetitions and lift heavier weights. Oh and also, judging from my performance at the race on Sunday, I need to do some extensive running. FOCUS JOY!