Tuesday, March 31, 2009

WEEK 08.0 - EXPERIENCE

TUESDAY, 03.31.09 - Experiencing pain and injuries suck. After 7 weeks of training I'm starting to notice wear on different parts of my body. Shoulder kinks, nerve pinches on my lower spine, and shin splints particularly. Joy!!! and Pain... =( Sunshine!!!! =) and rain.... =( You know.... like the song! I walked into a male dominant room this morning. Sweaty corporate men populated the Marriot gym. I ran on the treadmill - but only a mile. My shin started to emit sparks of pain and I didn't want to irritate it more before my race this Sunday. I layed off it and was disappointed. So I lifted more weigths to work out my shoulders, tricepts, bicepts, and lats. More reps until I started to feel the pinch on my lower spine. =T GGRRRrrr....

WEDNESDAY, 04.01.09 - This whole work and travel is really throwing me off my diet and my sleep / exercise schedule. Though I'm enjoying it in a different way, my body feels icky. I force myself to drink my V8 veggie juice everyday while on this business trip. I eat like 4 lbs worth of food here - gross! Had a late night last night but still made it to the gym! Did some ab work and lots of stretching. More weights since I wasn't that sore. I felt great afterwards. Now some dancing for the evening at Mid-Night Rodeo. Do some two steps and sweat! =)

THURSDAY, 04.02.09 I experienced it Texas style ya'll! Ate Mexican food, Jason Deli and Chick A Filet! After delays in the airport, I finally arrived NYC and because of traffic, I missed my brick training. I was supposed to ride outdoors with my team. Boo... Which reminds me I need some clear glasses for riding in the dark next Thursday.

FRIDAY, 04.03.09 On Friday I decided to take a core class with Kellie Roman. Boy is she RIPPED! It was nice to her to give me some pointers when doing my ab work. She noticed that I extend my chin unnecessarily when I do my crunches. Funny I should've known that. My mom always said I have a slightly elongated / extended chin from her eating so many chilly peppers while she was having me. Anyway, Kellie actually complimented me on my planks with the ball, one handed planks,etc. I guess I've still got it~! Then I lifted some more weights. I think I'm starting to look like a guy. Seriously... =P Tomorrow is a day that's jam packed full of activities. I don't know how I'm gonna pull it off but I will! Peace out bean sprout! =)

SATURDAY. Its 10:30 pm and the girls are in bed. Wow can I tell you all about what I did today? After all said and done I feel like I've been through a weeks worth of activities and it's only been a Saturday. This morning KC and I woke up at 5:30 a.m. and was observing the weather outside. Its a ritual that we do every Saturday morning as we joke around practicing our Indian accent together. Its really hilarious but I'm still half asleep and he's always wide awake. It was gloomy; the sky was purple, orange, gray in color and he was hoping his bike ride would be cancelled so his foot can have more time to heal. We both won't hear from our coach and team leader until about 7am so we both got ready anyway. We ate mom's breakfast: salmon, zuccinni with rice. I learned that my ride was ON but KC's was postponed. As I arrived at the Boat House parking lot I saw a metal barracade fall over. It was windy!!! There was a bike race going on so there were lots of riders in the park. We followed each other and maneuvered through traffic headed for the GWB. It was scary!!! At one point, we turned into a three lane road. As soon as I made the turn, I had trouble maneuvering my bike! I ended up two lanes across and was so scared that a car was going hit me! It was dangerous, to say the least. The wind gusts were so strong that it knocked 3 girls over their bikes! Maggie and her bike was slammed against the side of someone's car! Cissie's bike was literally flying as she tried to carry it! We hid in between cars for a bit until there was a break from the wind. Then we decided to take cover inside a parking lot. After a few minutes of shock, we rode back to the park where we debreifed and Coach Laura called it a day. Some of us decided to ride a bit more since the park was not as windy. Though the bikes were still shaky from the wind, I did another lap until KC came to pick me up. Luckily I had plans to go to Spa Castle - where the deep tissue massage helped calm my nerves. At 5 p.m. we left for Park Slope, Brooklyn to pick up race packets and numbers for tomorrow. Little sis May drove to Jack Rabbit where we picked up Maggie, Katie and Emily. Katie was excited to have bought her new sexy black Guru that day. Maggie was nervous for our race tomorrow. And poor Emily had a bad day. We each bought a race belt and I bought some speed laces. Soon after, we had Italian dinner at Circles Grill and during the ride back home the girls in the car learned about **turtlenecks** from Katie. Not the ones we wear, but the ones that disappear and reappear. Well according to Katie they do. I've never seen =P Exhausted, we went to bed at 10. What a day...

SUNDAY, 04.05.09 RACE DAY!!! I woke up at 5 and the rest of the girls woke up at 6. We were all quite excited as we pumped up the music in my room! We went downstairs for some home made breakfast prepared specially by my mom. Maggie goes nowhere without her peanut butter. We had warm scrambled eggs for protien , toasted mini bagels for carbs, banana for anti-cramp and hot coffee for energy! We are so ready for this race! Ran back upstairs to change and go through our check list (eye glasses, ticket number, helmet, gloves, GU, water)...CHECK! We were out the door as the sun made its way to greet us. A bit windy...but it was still perfect. KC arrived and we set our bikes to the rack. Then Marianela and Tom arrived to do the same. We were the FIVE GIRLS IN HOT ORANGE!!! WOOT WOOT! Prospect park here we come! We checked in and got our chips which we velcroed around our ankles. Set up our transition area - remembering what I learned from the Wassners. Face the bikes and shoes the direction you are heading! That helped! =). We took a few pictures to remember and stretched a lot. We were anxious at the start line. There was a group of army folks who were pumped up in the very front. 3...2...1! HONkKKK! I started running...Marianela and I were side by side. I remember not enjoying the run from the very beginning. But I kept distracting myself by thinking *Look Joy!!! The the sun is so beautiful, grass is so green, air so fresh, sky so blue, people so happy...* Basically anything that would keep me from thinking *I don't like running* Though luckily my shins were not in pain that day! That morning I tied up my calves with athletic tape as my manager at work suggested. I ran about a mile BURP until my shoe laces untied. UGH! This sucks!!! So I told Marianela to go on ahead as tied my laces and regretted not setting up my speed laces earlier like Katie did the night before. After 2.1 miles BURP I reached transition area. I remember being excited to jump on my bike! My legs were a bit tired but I thought nothing of it. I saw a guy who looked even more tired than I was dragging himself to get his bike - so naturally my mood turned the same. I was slouched and walking slowly towards my bike unitl I heard a distinctive scream "JOY!!! Hurry up! This is a RACE goddamit!!!" Hearing that cracked me up! It had to be Judy Chu! If it wasn't for her I would have taken 2 minutes in transition - which would have been OH sooo bad! So I got my butt out of there as fast as I could after her reminder that this was in fact, a race... suddenly the tool bag on my bike fell to the ground! I KNEW this would happen as the night before I realized it was lose. I tried so hard to calm my nerves and tried to tie it back onto my seat, but it didn't work. The man on the side told me to give it to him and retrieve it later, but I wasn't going to risk that chance of a flat tire in the middle of my ride. So I refused his offer and threw my tool pouch in one of my jacket pockets. SUCK IT UP I told myself as I hopped on my bike and hurried through. Not a even a minute after I decided to take a sip of water from my team lipstick bottle. I got hold of it and the water was refreshing, but when I tried to put it back on the holder, it fumbled right off and rolled down the side of the road. =( You should've seen the face that I had. =O That was the only water I had for the race because stupid me decided earlier that I didn't need two water bottles for a 2 hour race! Lesson learned. The first loop took longer than I expected BURP - but the hill was nothing like the Harlem Hill in Central Park. After my first loop, I heard my family and friends cheer so loudly I had to slow down just to make sure I caught a glimpse of all of them. Definitly put a huge smile on my face. It was memorable I decided to tell them that my water bottle was down and pointed forward - hoping they'd be able to find it for me. They looked confused at first but Billy's face showed he understood exactly what I had said. They started running the direction I pointed. So FUNNY! I rode my 2nd loop and boy was it windy!!! I was quite nervous to fall but thank goodness the wind that I experienced on Saturday prepared me for today! Today's wind was not nearly as bad as Saturdays. I held on tightly to my handle bars as I ducked down to be more aero dynamic. Down the hill I rolled at 23 mph! I was not going to use my break this time - if there was ever a point in this race that I needed to gain time, it would be on this bike, going downhill as fast as I could. =) I found myself day dreaming at least 3-4 times during my ride. But it was okay because it felt good just staring at the sun. BURP. Yes, I have a burping problem usually when I run and swim. So if you see me pound the middle of my chest real hard, you know why. I'm trying to make myself burp. I'm still trying to figure it out and it could be the way I'm breathing. If you know a solution to this, please please please TELL ME! I pulled into transition and put my bike away. Had to go back and get my GU for energy. Then I saw my dad with an open poland spring bottle. WATER!!! He handed it to me quickly. I really needed that! The chocolate cream GU was too thick to swallow without water. I started to run. Had to make sure I was going the right way because the signs for "runners" were small. I remember thinking nothing during my second run. I tried to run "faster" but I couldn't really. I wanted to take my time. My legs were wobbly. I remember seeing a young healthy looking Spanish guy who was running and stopping and running and stopping, right next to me. He looked done - but he obviously didn't want a girl like me to keep a consistent pace and beat him to the finish line. Everytime I passed him, he would start running faster and then slow down right away. Anyway, about 100 yards from the finish line, I saw girls in bright orange. That was my motivation to run strong - as Maggie, Katie and Emily ran towards me. They were cheering me on while running. It was really cute to see and the sight of them prompted me to start dancing towards the finish line. And of course I did! I skipped and hopped and clocked in at 01:23:13.1

My result:
Run 1 - 18:44.1 (08.55.3 min/mi)
Trans 1 - 01:14.4
Bike - 40:34.8 (14.8 mph)
Trans 2 - 01:35:1
Run 2 - 21.04.7 (10:02.2 min/mi)

WEEK 07.0 - PUSH IT

TUESDAY, 03.24.09 We had 5 teammates at swim training this morning. This allowed Coach Andres to demonstrate techniques and watch us swim more closely. I was actually very comfortable having my legs and feet tied together in the pool. This exercise helps us engage our core and forces our upper body to rotate and drill horizontally in the water. I liked it but I need to remember never to cross my hands during strokes. Crossing your arms on your strokes causes left/right movements you don't want. The most efficient way to swim is straight like an arrow and streamlined (including your arms). I also enjoy swimming on my side with one shoulder above water. Not often can I be on my side and not feel my arms go numb. In the afternoon I ran to Equinox and bumped into Becky (my teammate) who was increasing her personal training session to twice a week. She looking great! I can't afford a personal trainer. Today I upgraded myself to shoulder pressing 15lbs per arm (is that called Military press?). I did at least 5 sets of 10 reps. I am so awesome! I have to keep building on my shoulders. I'm working very hard to get rid of that thick layer of fat that's been hanging there for years. =X. I upgraded and “swam” in the air with 5 lbs weights on each arm through a song that lasted 3 minutes. I used to do 2lbs weights. Its very challenging but I know it builds endurance. I did massive single arm pull downs (like 10 sets of 12 reps) with 10 lbs weights to work my back (the muscles right under my arm pits, think they're my lats) - just as Coach Jenn suggested. I also upgraded to 15lbs bicept curls per arm (4 sets of 10 reps). Woo hoo! I can feel the soreness that's going to hit me tomorrow already. I did tricept pull downs with my palms facing up. I learned that last week. It works the muscle much more efficiently than doing the tricpt pull downs with your palms facing down. Try it! The trainers with the blue shirts on the floor can help people with advice and stretches - so I asked Danny (the boxer) for one! Oh man...I really needed that neck and shoulder stretch. He did a swell job. He told me the best way to train for a triathlon is to train in your element. I thought he meant to keep training on the leg that you excel at (which for me would probably be biking). But he really meant to train in the closest environment as the actual race - or make your training even more difficult than the actual race. For example, train in open water - not just a pool because there aren't any currents in the pool. Also train in higher resistance on a bike, on a higher incline on a treadmill - so that when it comes race day, it's easier because you're body has been through worse. I understand - so the goal this week is to push it! Heavier on the weights, longer on the swim, higher on the treadmill, faster on the bike...

WEDNESDAY, 03.25.09 I melted 5 lbs in 6 weeks. According to KC I should expect to drop even more in the next couple of weeks. Is this even possible? My butt shrank significantly. I feel like a stick - but a strong stick. I can fit into my little sisters clothes! She's actually starting to lend them to me now after seeing how much mass I've shed. I'm in for cycling class this afternoon - so I'm gonna turn up the resistance. And I'll be swimming in flushing tonight and the goal is to swim continously non-stop and see how far I can go!

THURSDAY, 03.26.09. WOOT WOOT! Our team had a private event at Lululemon! We practiced yoga together at the E66th Street shop. Kay Kay Clivio led us through our series that evening and she was very much enthused to be there. We were offered 15% off our purchase and of course I didn't hesitate to treat myself for all my hard work! Since the first week of training, I've been running around like a mad woman trying to catch 2-3 work outs a day. Since then, my bf and I have hardly spent time together. So today, I took the day off from work. I surprised him at West End Toga Bike Shop where he had an appointment to get fitted on his new bike. Coach Will warned me when he was about to walk in the shop, so I quickly ran to a triathlon bike I liked and acted like a normal customer. I heard him open and walk through the door. Not even a minute passed I already saw a body walk towards my direction! "Oh hey! What are you doing here?" I asked with my eyebrows raised and all my teeth showing. =D I won't forget the smile he had and the dimples that dented his cheeks as he bent down and took a steady second glance at my face. I quickly jumped towards him and gave him a squeeeeeze and a half. I was so happy to see him! Coach Will taught us many things on the bike as he made measurements and adjustments to KC's Specialized Allez. We're both so grateful to have Coach Will be our mentor through our baby steps to become a biker. To recap last night...I signed up to be a member of the NYC Recreational Center the other week and went to check out the flushing pool for the first time yesterday. It was a 25 meter length pool that was at least 7 feet deep throughout. I had no expectations that night besides mentally wanting to push myself as far as I can. Afterall that was my intention for this week. When I started swimming I told myself I would be happy if I swam 10 straight laps non-stop. 8 laps went by and I didn't feel a thing so I reset my goals to 15 laps. After 16 laps, I felt confident and knew I could do more - I kept going. I didn't know the time but really wanted to make 20 laps. So I did, but still I felt no sign of exhaustion. My breath was still in sync. I think the trick was to breathe after every stroke. I wanted to switch breathing after every 3 strokes or maybe 5, but I thought to myself...why change up something that works? I continued swimming and caught a cramp on my foot at lap 24 but I remained calm because I anticipated this cramp. As a result I swam with a flexed right foot for 1.5 laps until the cramp went away. I continued non-stop and didn't understand how I was able to feel like I can do this forever. What did I eat? Was it all mental? Could it be the pool? How did I get all this energy and composure? Was it from the ginseng capsules - which promoted stamina for athletes? I lifted heavy weights just the day before and was supposed to be exhausted and sore. I'm still quite baffled. All said and done, I ended up swimming 30 laps non-stop (back and forth representing one lap). I'm truly amazed at the realization that only two weeks ago I struggled to finish 6 laps and now I'm able to do 30. I have to give myslef credit. At the end of the day, I talked the talk. I walked the walk. I executed as planned. Though I still have a ton to improve on, I have to take a second to say "Good job, Joy Sy!!! Keep up the good work!"

FRIDAY, 03.27.09 More shopping!!! Okay - let's not go over board. There's still such thing as a budget. Tonight I'll be going to SBR Shop (Swim Bike Run) and meeting up with my cousin Ray and Marianela. Too bad they didn't have much selection for us to try on. It's supposed to be at least an hour and a half ordeal to try on these wet suits. They make you sign a waver saying if you rip it, you pay it - and it's several hundred dollars. No more coffee for Joy Sy at 3 p.m. I'm still wired! I shouldn't waste this build up of energy. I should really go do 40 laps or something. For the weaksauces out there in apartment 1908...stop watching Top Chef and get on your bikes!!! =P JK.

SATURDAY, 03.28.09 Shame on me. I pushed it...over the limit. Spending has become my outlet when I am upset. I'm upset that I have to travel to Texas on a last minute call. I frustrated myself finding my flight arrangements, rescheduling my doctor appointments and figuring out my workouts. As such, I've convinced myself I deserve $800 worth of jackets and fancy clothing I don't need. At Lululemon, I spent a few hundred dollars on hoodies and at SBR I bought a neon orange Campagnolo jacket (at retail) and a red Assos with leather trimming jacket (need I say more?). Whew! They're both so hot! The neon orange jacket was going to be our matching outfits for this Sunday's race. This mornings outdoor ride was cancelled due to wet weather. I was still going to central park becuase I had plans to meet up with my old manager who used to race seriously. I hadn't seen Brice in at least 3 years. He looked just as I remembered - calves just as huge (though not as lean as they used to be). He pushed me from behind while riding and I flew for a couple of feet and slowed down. We rode with our handlebars bumping. We chatted about my coaches who he seemed to have known. The triathlon world is small and everyone seems to know everyone. Maggie and Emily were also there. It was nice to see some girls in bright oranges rolling around. Maggie and Emily both spotted me from afar and thought my new jacket looked *bad ass*. I ended up doing 5 loops around the park that morning before I took the train downtown to Cadence. Don't ever take the B/D train there - took forever and I was late. I am annoyed at the computrainers there - but before I say that I should really understand the reason that's causing the computer to go crazy. The resistence on my wheels keep changing and I remember last time the numbers on the screen became whacked! Lawrence said it could be the pressure that's lacking on my wheels. Generally when it's humid and wet outside, the tires tend to deflate - which consequently allows for less chance for damaging / puncturing your tire. However lacking air pressure is not good for computrainers. Anyway, I was annoyed the majority of the time and only rode 10 miles indoors. I probably rode about 40 miles total that morning. Had myself some dim sum with Marianela afterwards. Chicken feet anyone? =P

SUNDAY, 03.29.09 I didn't do jack. I had to pack for Texas. I had a bridal shower. I had a flight to book, reschedule, rearrange, track and catch. C'mon!!! Gimme a break!!!


MONDAY, 03.30.09 At San Antonio, Texas. After flight cancellations and a several hours of delay, my flight finally arrived at 5 a.m. I had the urge to swim. Luckily I didn't and had my 2 hours nap instead. I'm surprised I functioned well all day. I lifted some weights and did upper body workout. I had a pinched nerve on my lower right back. =( The gym in the hotel was nice but after the last person left, the room dimmed, and my iPod died, the place felt creepy all of a sudden. I couldn't stay there myself and had to leave. So I jumped into the jaccuzzi and pushed my diet off the table. =( Throughout the day, I had ice cream, chocolate syrup, chocolate mousse, chocolate covered strawberries, and coffee chocolate cake. It's a tease to be an elite member of the Marriot because they offer you all this free food I cannot seem to turn down. I'm disappointed at my lack of self control. Boo hoo...

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

WEEK 06.5 - NEW PALTZ TRAINING PICTURES



From left to right...
Pic 1 - Arrival to New Paltz! Emily did a hellofa job roping our bikes together.
Pic 2 - That's Coach Jenn - she bakes the best chocolate chip cookies!
Pic 3 - Late for morning briefing. Coach Will took a picture to remind me never to be late. =X
Pic 4 - Riding with Coach Will!
Pic 5 - Marianela and I sharing our lunch snacks (I had just finished my curry puffs)
Pic 6 - The backyard of the Wassner's mansion - digesting our snacks
Pic 7 - Hiking / Running up the trails after our snacks
Pic 8 - My scrumptious braised short ribs with hoisin sauce and mashed potatoes
Pic 9 - After dinner and soooo ready for bed...
Pic 10 - Trying goo for the first time. Loving the bright orange team uniform!
Pic 11 - Me Laurel Wassner's by the pool!
Pic 12 - Katie, Emily and Maggie - sporting the Chapstick! Go Team!

WEEK 06.5 - NEW PALTZ TRAINING DAY 2

SUNDAY, 03.22.09 We had breakfast at the hotel and was on time for our briefing. Whew! Coach Laura explained that there were two options for the day's ride. A straight 20 minute steep uphill climb or a flat strong effort with Tiffany and Will. We rode to the place where we had the "test hill" which was a 2 minute sample climb. I climbed that hill and made it to the top. It was challenging, but I certainly wasn't going to attempt something I couldn't finish. Being that I am directionally challenged, I was afraid to stop in the middle of a climb and not be able to find my way back to the rest of the group on my own - even with a cue sheet. Though Coach Will says he's found my niche - he concluded that I'm a climber, I opted for the flat effort. =X Next time, when I'm more confident, I'll attack that hill. In the mean time I followed Coach Will and Tiff through a paceline which kept at a speed of 17-18 MPH. For forty minutes we practiced 10 second rotating paceline - where the leader takes lead for only 10 seconds and drops back. It was super funnnn! After that day, I was much more comfortable riding behind a wheel 5-6 inches apart. =) For snack I had goo (or is it GU) for the first time! I don't even know if that's how you spell it, but Marianella gave me two flavors to try. Strawberry cream was tasty - kinda like yogurt. When we reached the hotel, Coach Will complimented my dismounts - he even called me a rockstar! When I entered our room, everyone complained that they were stiff and beat but since I gained some extra energy after all the compliments, I offered my roomies a massage. Before our swim we stopped by a local bakery to pick up some coffee and sandwiches. My Irish Cream gave me some exta boost. We rolled into SUNY New Paltz parking lot where we watched the Wassner twins show us some tricks for transition. You can tape up your goos (power gels) onto the stem of your bike so you can just rip them off and swallow them as you are riding. You're supposed to put your sunglasses inside your helmet in such a way where you just pick it up and everything just slips right on. You dismount your bike from the seat when you finish your swim and go for your ride. They showed us how to use rubber bands to hook the tri-shoes in place. Emily demonstrated the run and hop onto the bike while manuvering the bike by its seat. That was funny! She was flying and she bounced right onto her seat - it looked like the bounce hurt her bums - but actually it was no big deal - she's got extra cushion for the pushin' (Emily taught me that). Then we watched one of the twins pedal with her feet on top of the shoes and then slip her foot (one at a time) into the shoe, close the velcro, all while conitnuously pedaling. That was smooth. I don't think I'm at that level. Then after your ride, you mount your bike back in transition area by it's handle bars - remembering not to unbuckle your helment until your bike is mounted (otherwise you receive a penalty). At your second transition area, you should face your sneakers to the direction in which you are supposed to run. They suggested buying the adjustable speed laces so you don't have to tie your sneakers. Oh and don't forget to snap on your running number (or you will be disqualified from the race). Visor and sunglasses were also recommended for the run. That's a lot to remember - and that's only for transition! At the parking lot today I also learned how to box the bikes in (with the cars / bike racks) so it makes it much more difficult for people to steal your bikes. For our swim training we did a few new drills. We swam a few laps crowded together to try to simulate what it would be like on race day. We also learned "sighting." This is where you look up and focus on a steady point while swimming. Because the open water swim will be in dark waters and without lanes, it becomes more challenging to swim straight. Sighting will help one focus on the direction to swim. Coach Rebecca decided to time 5 of our 50 meter laps. I clocked in at: 55, 51, 48, 47, 48 seconds a good consistent pace (not all out). I sucked at treading and diving. After everyone got out of the pool Marianela and I decided to take in some diving tips from Rebecca. Though I started out with my fingertips closest to the water, somehow my knees were the first to hit it. =X The ride back was fast. I got back to the city and ate a warm meal with KC (the bf) - Spicy Malaysian Curry roadside noodle with tofu and stuffed veggies. That meal and a full body massage was my reward from KC for the tough weekend. =) What'd you get? =P

MONDAY, 03.23.09 I didn't do jack. Work was my silly excuse.

Monday, March 23, 2009

WEEK 06.5 - NEW PALTZ TRAINING DAY 1

SATURDAY, 03.21.09 Here we go! I woke up at 5 am to pack for a two day boot camp training at New Paltz (upstate). Arrived at Emily's apartment a little early as my text message awoke her. =X. I felt bad so I decided to wash her dishes. Haha joking. I did it because I wanted to be productive. My mom taught me to do that. We picked up Katie who wore the hot pink Nike's she designed and then Maggie who wore her sunglasses and hoddie which made her look like a superstar in disguise. Emily is the craziest driver ever! "Move the f~#k outta the way jerk off!" "I never give way to pedestrians!". Haha. She scares/worries me sometimes (her legs are strong and rock solid). We played Sandstorm during our ride, bounced around in the car, and arrived to Motel 87 late. Marianela, Maggie, Emily and I got room 15 right next to Coach Laura, Coach Jenn and sweet petite Tiffany. When we arrived, Coach Jenn lent me her favorite drawstring Accenture bag. It was useful as it held my sneakers and snacks for the day. I need to get one of those! By the time we arrived Coach Laura already sold the last team jacket. Rats! It took us a while to get settled. Emily and I were late to our breifing so as punishment we were supposed to do the "chicken dance." I didn't even know the electric slide - forget the chicken dance. In the Philippines the chicken dance consists of flapping your elbows while running and making "bawking" noises. I didn't think that's what she wanted to see. Was it? Hopped on our bikes and we were on the road! Beautiful were the views of New Paltz especially with 23 ladies (and 2 men) most in bright orange uniforms cycling in a very long pace line. We rode along the slim and curvy, steep and hilly routes next to vinyards, horse farms and along busy thruways. Ugh! I still can picture the sight. My Rudy Project Syluros brightened up the colors of the green grass and trees surrounding me. I saw large friendly dogs and playful horses. Not even half way through our ride, Tiffany, Marianne and I got lost at a dead end. Where'd everyone go?!? Luckily I had our printed cue sheet. Oh geez! And to think that I was going to leave my phone in the motel that morning like everyone else did. Whew! With the cue sheet we were able to turn around and find the rest of the group waiting for others at a stop sign. We totaled about 35 miles at the end of our ride. We pulled all our bikes up to the Wassner mansion. Laurel and her twin sister Rebecca Wassner are professional triathletes who were our special coaches for the weekend. They were tiny in size but should not be underestimated. The house was elegant and had breathtaking views and sounds of waterfalls from their living and dining rooms! I reassured myself...One day, Joy Sy, you'll have a mansion of your own. We had our snack. Everyone whipped out their powerbars and gels I had chicken curry puffs and a pear. =) We were each supposed to carry food with 1,000kcals, but I had no idea how to measure that with curry puffs. I enjoyed my snack until we started heading up for the hills. I cramped. Apparently these are not the types of food I should be eating before a long endurance work out. =T. But I wasn't the only one that cramped, poor Tiffany had an aweful one on her leg and she couldn't even stand. =( I opted for the flat run which reminded me of how much I disliked running. But as I shuffled the brown leaves against my sneaks and listened to them ruffle, it made the run fun-er. Not fun, just fun-ER. After our run, everyone complained how the hill was hell. I needed to save some energy and muscle for tomorrow so I was glad I didn't make it to hell. As soon as we arrived back to Motel 87, Jenn brought out a surprise! She brought some of her home baked crunchy chocolate chip cookies and they were perfect! I had one and delighted in another - without guilt. We had 2 hours before dinner so we took turns showering and then landed our legs high up against the wall to rest them. I massaged my legs as hard as I can to release some lactic acid build up. It was painful but beneficial. We headed to dinner at the Guilded Otter where I had a delicious salad with walnut cranberry vinegrette and a large portion of braised short ribs and mashed potatoes. I drank it down with two cups of hot water. Emily decided to do her chicken dance after dinner - she waited until the waiters and the bus boys walked by - then she started to give them butt humps while they weren't looking. haha! I didn't do my chicken dance - so Coach Laura said she was going to make me do something worse. I don't think she'll remember though because she does so many things in a day! During our ride back to the hotel, some crazy woman decided to cut Emily off on the road! Turns out it was Coach Laura! Oh...we're still planning to get her back!

Sunday, March 8, 2009

WEEK 06.0 - ENDURE

TUESDAY, 03.17.09 Mental toughness - it's mind over body. It's work out over chocolate. Its a 9 year old girl whose leg was severed from cancer telling you to suck it up! It's positive thinking. I know exactly what Amy Palmiento-Winters talked about last night. The toughest moments where you have to dig deep inside yourself to find that stamina are the ones you will never forget. I took a fitness assessment with Sam at Reebok last night and was measured with an average 24% fat (most of which probably came from my arms). After asking me about my nationality and my history, the fitness consultant asked me what sport I play. There was a pause - I play sports??? Does yoga and stretching count? - I was a bit embarrassed to answer because I've never played sports growing up. I was always physically sheltered as a girl and ended up being afraid of many things (including water, speed, and balls coming directly at me). - "Why do you think I play sports?" I asked. "By the way you walk, your posture and your physique." His answer sounded nice but the truth is, I don't play any sport. He's from L.A. and says I belong there because my energy fits right in. Sam specializes in aesthetics for women - didn't realize there was such a specificity. This morning at swim, I -BONKED- my head on the wall under the water! I guess I didn't realize how far one stroke gives me! Then while resting, Katie sneakingly squirted cold water all over my back. =P Hum...should I get her back? Should I devise a plan of attack (well, maybe a sneak attack)? My All Out 50 meters clocked at 1:08 today. I saw a man enjoying his coffee - then I thought - hey, I deserve one! So I treated myself to a Chocolate Raspberry Cream coffee. I went for an afternoon weight lifting session. Focused on tricepts, back and shoulders - boy are they sore! The focus this week is endurance, Joy Sy. See how many reps you can lift, test how far you can run, time how long you can swim, try how deep you can stretch and finally discover the strength within yourself. Reap the benefits of all your hard work! =) And then smile along the way...

WEDNESDAY, 03.18.09 My foot surgeon slit the ligaments on 3 of my toes on my right foot this morning. First he froze it, injected novocain then pressed the tiny blade against my skin until I heard the ligaments rip and tear. EeEk! Whew! Just the sound itself made me cringe. These should help release the tightness that's causing my toes to be bent. Before he did it, I made sure I would be able to run and do extreme exercises by the weekend. There ain't no way I was going to miss out on New Paltz training camp. I'm due to get my other toes slit in two weeks. I had a serene yoga class this afternoon. Walked out of Equinox refreshed, glowing with a smile on my face. Finished my juicy pear and as I threw out its pit, I threw my office ID with it! I looked deep down into the green NYC garbage bins which had a lock on it (like someone was going to steal garbage). Uh Oh. Good thing the bin had only a little bit of stuff. Still, I didn't know what to do or how to get my ID back - that bin was too deep for me to reach in. Luckily a bystander offered his help and turned the whole bin upside down! ??!?!?! Why didn't superwoman think of that!?!? I had a skirt on with high heeled boots - maybe that's why. Anyhow, I thanked the man with the brilliant idea and am grateful for helpful Spanish people! =)

THURSDAY, 03.19.09 We're going to turn it up another notch for training. This is midway through our 12 week program and I'm ready to be injured. Growing up, I barely fell and have minimal scars. This week I bought 12 boxes of super duper heavy duty active flex bandages and lots of Vitamin E and Mederma for any scars I expect to get. For this endurance focused next couple of weeks, I bought myself some Ginseng supplements. It advertised to be a favorite among athletes to "promote physical stamina." We'll see.

FRIDAY, 03.20.09 Today was supposed to be rested so I can be fresh for a weekend full of intense training. Instead I went for a swim to learn how to breast stroke. Though it's supposed to be easier than the front crawl (free style) I still can't get the rhythm correct. =T My legs were tired. =(

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

WEEK 05.0 - ADAPTATION

TUESDAY, 03.10.09 I'm glad I'm able to blog while I travel to work. I hate "wasting time" while commuting. In the middle of our endurance swim this morning I experienced a massive cramp on my left calf. What the hell man! I ate a banana and a half this morning! The banana had a purpose, but it let me down. =( I wonder what else is out there to prevent such sudden excruciating pain. Please don't tell me to swim more, because we all know I swim enough. These unexpected occurrences are unacceptable on race days and I will try almost anything (except cut out my cup of coffee)! Lunch on me if you prescribe me something that's guaranteed. =)Today, I got the hang of kicking less in the water. Yay! And maybe that's why I was able to do more of the endurance swim now. But still, its something I have to keep reminding myself. I have to think that swimming is like dancing. It kind of is - the way the body moves with its partner (the water) and how you feel it's every movement. Now all I need is music in the water to keep me going! Today, I pulled my body through the pool without paddles - 6 laps. I didn't think I could do it without paddles at first because my back muscles were sore today, but somehow because there's so much other variables I have to think of while in the water, soreness just goes away. (In the shower - put some eye cream and smother lotion on my face) Hmmm...lotion smells different this morning?!?!? (looked over and peeked from my right eye) SHAVING CREAM!?!?! Eweeeeee! Hahaha. Gotta laugh about it! I got off the bus. The sun shun on my face and suddenly I felt spring crawl on my skin. I love it...coffee time!

WEDNESDAY, 03.11.09 I woke up this morning sore on my back and arms (from lifting) and calfs (from running). I was immobile. As much as I wanted to do more to push myself and build strength, I was out of commission. Though physically I felt aweful, mentally I was satisfied that I felt muscle pain. I really hope its true Marianela, pain is weakness leaving the body. =) And if so, I'm on the same boat as GC, I'm mad weak! I knew I was going to take it easy today. I wanted a deep tissue (pound me as hard as you can, yes I mean it) type of massage. I did some freestyle yoga and stretched myself out. Aaaaahh felt great... Coaches tell us that yoga training twice a week will dramatically improve performance. =) Ha! If I could, I'd do it everyday! After my hot shower, I laid right smack in the middle of my king size bed. Just me and myself, oh and a few gadgets. I took out my warming oil, my heavy duty thumper, and borrowed my sister's rolling deep tissue massager. I took my sweet time massaging every inch of me and oooh-ed and aaaah-ed along the way. I'm glad I'm a girl because I know if you boys out there did the same your sexuality would be questioned. I forgot to document that during swim on Tuesday we were asked to count how many strokes it took us to get across the 25 meter pool. It was a fun exercise. It took me 23 - 25 strokes each time. The goal was to do less strokes in the same amount of time. Basically more power in less amount of strokes. During a stressful evening at work, I ate a ton of junk food (chocolate pretzels, mint chocolate, flavored pita chips, and more chocolate). It was satisfying at first, but I felt so gross afterwards. =(

THURSDAY, 03.12.09 Hello there! (wink) Why yes, I'm in a great mood this morning. I'm so excited for tonight! Fitting our uniforms! Yay! I'm an extra small? Hum...maybe now my little sister would lend me her clothes. We ran 3 times on Cat Hill with an additional flat effort at the top to Cleopatra's Needle. We learned to run uphill efficiently by picking up our legs higher while building strength in our legs. I'm a slow runner; it took me 23 minutes. Jenn led our cycling session today. The climax was a very difficult and very long (3 minute) standing climb. I did not give up. I stuck it through even when my legs burned and I was out of breath. Sometimes I wonder if I didn't have my family members and friends to picture at the finish line - what it is I would see as my motivation in the end. Would it be cash? Eh. Would it be a huge mansion (without me maintaining it)? Maybe. But you know what? There really isn't any comparison to those people who you would never give up for.

FRIDAY, 03.13.09 Friday the 13th again? Didn't we have a Friday the 13th just last month? I accomplished 200 meters non-stop today. I was struggling with this last week. So, horray for me! Granted, yes, I took my time to finish - 5:12 minutes - I am still proud. (pat me). I can finally calm my breathing and control my kicks! Swim has become less of a struggle. =) This only means more improvement from here! Today it took me 25 seconds to do 25 meters "all out" (without any paddles and without any fins).

SATURDAY. 03.14.09 Fiftys and sunny! Team Lipstick came to ride with us at Central Park. They were in their bright orange and white uniforms which I'm so psyched to get next month! The drill was 6-8 Harlem hill repeats (seated effort on the odd number climbs, 1, 3, 5, etc. and standing climbs on the even ones). I was nervous. This was my first attempt with standing climbs (clipped on my bike). I explained to Coach Laura that my chain has been slipping since last week, especially on the uphills. When she saw and heard them rattle, she said either I call it a day and get it fixed or ride on my hardest gear (big ring) throughout the hill repeats. =T. Dude....let's be serious here... I wasn't gonna call it quits. My very first biathlon is in less than a month. I rode on my hardest gear throughout the day. =). I kicked ass. The burn felt great! The best part was that after our drills, when we all met up at the Transverse, Coach Laura gave me honorable mention for finishing the hill completely standing as she hasn't seen anyone do it before. I blushed. After, Marianela and I rode to Toga together and I finally got my chain adjusted - for free! I like the perks that come with purchasing a bike atToga! Marianela got a new seat to support her bums. Hope it helps her. Our bums are important to protect and keep pain free! I stepped out of Toga to ride the West Side. I love that path! It's smooth and clear of obstacles with a calming view of the water and parks nearby. I shuffled my songs on my iPod and Boyz to Men came on. Haha! "Motown Philly back again! Doin' a lil' east coast swing..." It was a lovely experience to be riding by myself, at my own pace, with my own music. Nothing but a smile on my face. It was a perfect morning ride...After lunch I decided to give KC a private tire changing clinic. It was a good refresher course for me and I know it will be helpful when I get a flat. I got my very first cap and goggles today! The ones I wore were borrowed. My new cap is silicone on the outside, but lyra on the inside so it doesn't pull my hair. It also came in different sizes which was great because I have tiny head. My Air Seal mirrored silver goggles made me look like a pro (hehe) and they performed great! At 5:30 p.m. I went to swim with Marianela, who so graciously invited me to her lessons with Cliff Sherb. It was awsome meeting Cliff, an elite triathlete / coach whose placed third in his age group during his first iron man. I swam in 9 feet deep water! I saw scuba divers under the pool and even waved hi to them. Thanks to Cliff's motivation, Marianela and I completed our first 300m non-stop swim!!! YahoooOoo!!! ~ For me, it was one of those moments where I felt confidence in myself to do more. Thanks again Marianela!

SUNDAY, 03.15.09 Swim class was indeed awesome. I learned that there's such thing as over turning the body while drilling into the water. By doing that I might actually end up doing a 360 drill turn. Hum...maybe one day it'd be fun to try. We had 3 paparazzi's - lil sis May, Marianela's crew: Thomaz and Conrad. Here are two videos of our 4 X 25 meter "all out" swim! Looks like my arms should really be going much faster!




My sister dropped me off at 11:16 a.m. in front of the left snack stand on Columbus Circle. I was one minute late, but just in time as I saw our group a block away wearing the bright orange Team Lipstick uniform. It certainly is eye catching! Though I eventually lost sight of our group - because heck they run so much faster - I was glad Marianela was 2 minutes late because we ended up doing our own little run in the dirt road together! =) I had my 7 lbs. back pack on while running because I had no place to store it. I was literally dead tired by the end of the night. ZZzzzz...

MONDAY, 03.16.09 Plyo baby! I love this class. It gets me pumpin'. Today I did 16 squats during 6 of my sets and 17 squats for the other 2 sets. Totaling 130 squats in 4 minutes. I feel good. If only I can do the same for push ups! I ate ice cream and a cookie to reward myself. hehe. Tonights lecture is on "Mental Toughness." I cannot wait to see and hear our speaker - Amy Palmiero-Winters! 9X world record holder (in running) whose foot was crushed by a motorcycle. See Amy run: See Amy run: http://www.seeamyrun.com/ She is a true example of a person who's been able to control her mind over her body. It's time to learn, Joy Sy. This weekend I realized that training triathletes live almost like a single person (if you're not already single). It's been a rough five weeks in terms of juggling training and time with KC. =( To remedy the situation, we decided to take swimming lessons together! Soon enough we'll be racing each other... Money down on ____(fill in the blank)___! =P

Monday, March 2, 2009

WEEK 04.0 - CHANGE

TUESDAY, 03.03.09 Bike clinic was awesome! We learned soooo much and it was hands on! Will Alverado reminded us the importance of knowing our own bike – because everyone’s bike is different. I love my Roubaix; she and I are close, but will get to be buddy buddies more over the next…oh I don’t know…years. I also need to learn the half-shifts on my gears. I didn’t even realize I had this on my bike! Thanks to Will, I now know how to change my tires and fix a flat!
At swim last night, I kept trying that 100 m non-stop, but this time with a bouy. It’s much smoother with a bouy. My stokes were strong, my breathing was smooth and my legs just chilling and floating! This morning’s swim class was alright. We focused more on breathing techniques so our pace was slower. Still, I struggle with the 100m non-stop swim. Aaaarrrr! Frustrating because I seriously need to learn to slow my heart rate down! No more messing around, Joy Sy. Get it right or drown!!! I started off my non-stop swim very slowly, knowing that I need that endurance, BUT THEN while I was under the water, I heard Coach Laura say “Joy, your arms are in slow motion!” But I knew that. =) That’s what I was trying to do, but I guess I had to speed it up and put the power in. Once I did, my legs started expending a lot of energy and I was DONE – out of breath - wishing I could use the pull bouy during the race. Forget my legs, I know my arms (on their own) are strong enough to pull myself through the whole swim route.

Sneak peek of my diet today:
05:30 a.m. Rice noodles with pork and sticky rice with mushroom
08:00 a.m. Banana and apple
09:00 a.m. Coffee
11:00 a.m. Kumquats
12:00 p.m. Steamed salmon
02:00 p.m. Boiled melon vegetable
04:00 p.m. 3 steamed egg whites

I finally signed up for my first race! New Jersey Man Multisport Sprint Race is going to be held on Saturday, May 9th! We’re staying overnight on Friday and maybe Saturday for some dancing. I’m excited because I get to be part of the team’s first race! It’s very soon, I know, but it only pumps up the adrenaline! I’ll probably sign up for three more races: SBR's Harriman State Park Sprint (Saturday, June 13th), Philedelphia Insurance Sprint (Saturday, June 27th) and then the ultimate Olympic distance race: The Nautica NYC Triathlon (Saturday, July 27th). Who knows, I might chicken out, but still, these will be my goals for the next several months.

WEDNESDAY, 03.04.09 When in comes to triathlons, throw your budget out the window. I don't want to spend the time to think about how much I've forked out so far, but if you can ask me if you want. Of course I have a list of my triathlon expenses. =P Oh you know what sucks? Just as I thought I got my training schedule down packed, I now have to re-arrange everything. Being on client sites for the next two weeks is not what I had in mind. But of course, I have to suck it up, think it through and make sure I still get all my work-outs in somehow. This morning was weight lifting - shoulders, back, bicepts and tricepts. Working out at home is just not the same. =( Booo...

THURSDAY, 03.05.09 I've been so busy I forgot to pay rent! I never forget rent. So all my pants no longer fit. And since my sister bluntly told me I can't borrow any of her clothes, I had to pull out some from college and even from high school. Surely I am slowly disappearing.
I was dancing at 5:30 am this morning - just me and the music. It felt soooo goooood! I can comfortably say I am natural at dancing. My body and legs just go on their own. But to be told by Coach Jennifer Place that she can see I'm a natural in the water is something I am still working on!!! I'm trying and can't let her down! And since I can't make my way to the gym during mid-day for the next two weeks, I have to exercise more in the mornings. After and hour of Yoga X and half an hour of Ab Ripper, I am able to smile a bit. Yesterdays measly workout casted a bad mood for the rest of my day. If work allows, I hope to catch my team for today's Harlem Hill repeats!
I don't know where I get all this energy. Some of you ask me how I do it all. I'll let you in on it. I'm not superwoman (though I can confidently say I was bore by one!). I can't take much of the credit actually. I woke up this morning with a glass of hot green tea, warm noodles, and green bean stew. Every morning I lift the lid of a pot and ~wala~ a warm breakfast just for me! =). My mom is the ultimate superwoman. Everyday she will have several pre-washed fruit, steamed vegetables and delicious fish and chicken for me to choose and bring with me to fuel my body for the rest of the day. My family has been super supportive of me and what I'm doing, I think about each of them everyday. My dad helps me run my errands. My button falls off, he sews them back on. He helps me run to the post office and as a bonus he gives me life lessons on how to be an even better person. =). My sister's role is one of a kind. She's here to remind me that I will never be as skinny as her no matter how much training and working out I do. So maybe I'm here determined to prove her wrong but we all know my weakness. My flaw is that food is my best friend. My brother lends me all of his equipment: weights, bench, stationary bike trainer and all the other gear you can think of. And then there's KC, whose unparalleled encouragement (through the emotional breakdowns, mental stress, and physical challenges) have gotten me to this point. And that, you guys...is how I do it all... I hope to make you all proud on race day!!! =)

FRIDAY, 03.06.09 I feel like it's been a while since I swam. Good thing I was able to do it this morning. The initial goal was to swim non-stop for 20 minutes, but that didn't happen - 12 minutes max and I was out of breath (that was with a pull bouy too!). Aiya. Then I decided to figure out my leg rythm to each arm stroke. I watched this lady next to me and she did three. I tried it but I was still getting too tired. Then I saw this guy training and he did two kicks to every stroke. It looked very smooth, so I think I'll try that next time.

SATURDAY 03.07.09 Sunny high 60's F. The floor had patches of wet spots, but perfect for riding nonetheless. It excited my teammates and I. Emails went back and forth about what to wear. There was a race at the park that morning, so there was more traffic than usual. We had to be alert. Similar to a race environment where you have to constantly be on the look out. An amazing feeling riding the loop 3 times and not feeling a bit tired. I guess after riding 40 miles last week 18 miles should be a cup of tea with a piece of cake! I had a terrible fear of crashing and falling though. I'm the biggest chicken in my family. Since childhood, I've always been afraid to get hurt - which explains why I don't generally play impact sports (I stick with yoga). Though when I'm already hurt I have a high tolerance for pain (a neurologist had once confirmed). An accident occurred today (at nobody's fault). Lauren and Jennifer crashed and fell while going at least 17 mph. I was right next to them. I heard it all and even saw it from the corner of my eye. Lauren tried to avoid the water bottle in front of her but since Jenn was riding inches away from her, their bikes crashed. Jenn knew she was going down but somehow her voice sounded so calm when she said "Oh no." Then I heard the collision of the bikes. It made crackling/tangling sounds until I heard bodies hit the ground. I had to call out Will. Katie and Carey also stopped as we pulled over to the side. They came out okay but Lauren sprained her wrist pretty badly. Their bikes needed fixing so they couldn't ride the rest of the day. =( Things like this scare me but as Jenn wrote in her email, incidents like this make stronger riders. I admire the camaraderie that exists in our team. I hope they both recover well and keep up their spirits!

SUNDAY, 03.08.09 Lil sis came to watch me practice swim. I had un-matching swim attire (blue bathing suit with a neon yellow cap). She may not lend me her clothes, but I know she loves me! =) At swim I shared the lane with Love. I don't know why they call her that, but they do. She's older than the rest of us and has strong willpower. While swimming froggy style on my back, I sorta scraped the side of her boobies. Don't look at me like that! It was by accident! =X Then I thought I'd swim faster to give her some space. So, I took a larger froggie style stroke and as a result, I slapped her boobs under the water! Oh goodness! I'M SO SORRY! I didn't even get the chance to personally say it to her. End of THAT story! This is a video my lil sis May took from our swim class! I'm the one all the way at the end lane (with a bright yellow cap and blue bathing suit). Coach Andres asked us to go "all out." It took me 17 seconds to swim across the 25 meter length (with fins). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOT24mrW--E

By the way, I figured out the secret shower spot that hogs all the hot water! I'll can only tell you if you're nice to me. Anyway, I noticed the shape of my legs today. People used to tell me that I have "fat knees" but it seems to run in my family. Even my skinny little sister has "fat knees." But guess what! They're no longer that fat! I swear the fat just melted away. This week was all about change. Learning to change my bike tires, learning to adapt to schedule change and most rewarding of all...seing my body change. I no longer have fat knees. =)

MONDAY, 03.09.09 Today I made it to Equinox-Brooklyn Heights. I set my goal at 6 miles OR an hour of running (which ever comes first) but instead I ran for only 39 minutes and only 4 miles. =( I'm still in the 10 minute mile but whatever, I ran more than last week. And if it wasn't for the pins and needles I felt on my foot all of a sudden, I would have continued. My feet are still swollen from sugery and I have an appointment to see the doctor for a follow up. I hope my bones are okay and the screws are still in place. After running I decided to do some resistance training with my arms (which I usually don't do on Monday's because I don't want my arms to be sore during our swim session on Tuesdays). It was nice to see my back / lat muscles contract in the mirror. I always made fun of the guys who loved to stare at their muscles. I never understood, but now I do. I'm turning into a guy! Aaahhh! Because of work I missed Coach Jenn's lecture on strength training. =( Good thing they gave out notes! I hope you're enjoying the pictures I started to put up! =) I eat about 6 meals and continuously throughout the day. Check out picture of my breakfast #2. I'm a monster!

WEEK 03.5 - IMPROVE

SATURDAY 02.28.09
First I'd like to thank you all for visiting and reading my blog! Its fun to know people actually read about me and my experiences, so hi readers!!! Hope this continues to spark your interest, whether it's for mere motivation or pure entertainment, I'm happy you're here!
It was a beautiful Saturday in NYC (close to 50 degrees with clear skies). Many runners and bikers were at the park for leisure and for training. We've been bike training at Central Park for 3 Saturdays now and not many people have been outside because of the cold. Today was different, its like when the rain stops, all the ants and worms start coming out of their holes and start greeting others. It was nice to watch.
Every week I pick a special tree. It's duty is to keep my snack company. Today was no different, I picked a large competent tree to hide my bananas. So far I've been lucky not to have anyone take or encounter any dogs pee on my food. This way, I always finish the park with a nice cold rejuvenating snack without having to carry it with me during my ride! I better not catch you take my snack because by the time I find out I'll be jacked enough to kick your @ss!
Before riding around the loop we practiced waving with one hand and drinking from our water bottles while biking. Cissie was impressive because she was super scared at first, thinking she could never do it, but only after a few tries, she was able to point out directions and obstacles while riding. Not only was she able to do it, it looked (from my perspective anyway) very controlled. I guess things like this is all mental. We tell ourselves that we're scared and the result is that we become scared for years. In reality our body can do what our minds just tell it to do. While on our bikes, we also practiced looking behind each shoulder and reading number of fingers that was flashed at us. That was enjoyable. Coach Will told me that I stop and land well on my bike. . Why thank you. I haven't fully fallen to the ground with my bike yet and I'm sure it will be painful when it does happen. 2 loops around the Outer Park Drive Loop (which I believe is 12 miles) went by much faster this week than last. I'd be very satisfied to know if that's how much stronger my legs have become since last week.I rode on my "drops" today which is the lowest part of the handle on a road bike. It was comfortable and aerodynamic but I would be kind of scary riding that position going downhill. We'll see if this is something my mind can overcome. Looks like (from my cyclocomputer) I rode 22 mph downhill today...fuuun!
Took the train straight to Cadence to prepare for a 2 hour indoor ride. I'll see how long my legs can last today. Some girls thought it was funny that I rode indoors with my booties. They're so difficult to take off! I not going to waste 5 min taking them off and another 5 min putting them back on later. I'm practical like that (don't like to waste time, though my bf will probably call me "lazy" for that but I don't believe him, I'm not lazy). I had to switch the "pin" on my back wheel to attch to the station. My original pin had squarish edges that would scrape against the station while spinning so I needed to switch it to a rounded edged pin. I think I have loose derailuers / chains. The chains always gets stuck in mid-gear. I may need barrel adjusters, but we'll see. I'll ask Coach Will during our Bike Clinic class on Monday.
Anyway, after an hour and 15 miles, I was tired...but but but! I told myself I can push some more! Have I told you how much I love my iPod? Music keeps me going. It's my juice, the basis of my livelihood. With the beat of the music I finished strong totaling 40 miles of riding today!!!
But I wasn't done. I met up with Coach Laura for her swim class at 5 pm. I swam faster this week. I know because I kept catching up to and touching the guys foot in front of me. Last week this guy and I were swimming the same pace. =) But you know what, I shouldn't really use that to gauge. He couldv'e been tired. Need to learn to use my stop watch.

SUNDAY 03.01.09
Met Francisco who's worked at Riverbank State Park for 16 years now. He showed me around the park and the skating rink where I watched little boys play ice hockey. So adorable! He's super nice if you ever bump into him.
I struggled doing 200 m (4 laps) non-stop today. I had to stand up in my last 25 meters and back stroke the rest of the way. =( To think that I have to be able to do 16 laps non-stop before race day is a pretty scary thought. I don't want to envision myself drowning or drinking toxic Hudson River water. I need to find that right rythm on my legs! Grrrrr! I kick too much and tire myself out to fast. It's hard to switch the mentality because I'm used to always using my legs because they are the strongest muscle set, but now the mentality is that I have to conserve my legs as much as possible. Coach Jenn said I was doing "really good" in the pool. It's very motivating to hear that all that time and hard work I put these past weeks has not gone to waste. Oh and before I forget, applying conditioner on my hair before a swim works so well! I have to thank Lauren for that idea.
I run everywhere now. To the bike shop, to the dance show, going home from the train station, etc. I'll treat you to more massages if you keep it up Joy Sy!

MONDAY 03.01.09
Many times my training attire becomes a fashion attraction. My "cute" bike skirt (http://www.skirtsports.com/) with the shami has become quite popular. My lululemon hat with ponytail accomodation (http://www.lululemon.com/) has been one of my most useful purchase. And the Rudy Projects - just hottt (http://www.pedalpushersonline.com/?CID=1106)! This random girl at the locker room said to me "Hey, you may not win first at the race but you'll win best dressed!" She liked my aqua tri-swim suit from Danskin. Joy's back in business. After 3 months of disability and only 3 weeks of training, I'm back to being able to do 120 squats in 4 minutes. Yay! Plyometrics class with Eric VonFrolich is always intense. Full of sweat and adrenaline. My heart rate was up to 92% at class!I'll be drinking chlorine water with Marianela later. Yay!
And let's see what we learn from our Bike Clinic tonight! Ciao!